Meeting Minutes

August 5, 2024

The Mayor and Board of Commissioners of the City of Sweetwater met in their regular monthly meeting on Monday, August 5, 2024 at 5 p.m. at City Hall. Mayor Lowe called the meeting to order with an invocation, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. The Roll Call reflected Commissioners present as: Lamar Hughes, Sam Moser, Alan Richeson, JoAnna Jinks, and James H. Stutts. City Attorney John W. Cleveland was present.

Commissioner Stutts moved to approve the minutes from the regular monthly meeting of July 1, 2024, 2024 and the workshop and called meeting of July 22, 2024. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

After the Recorder's report, Commissioner Richeson moved to approve the distributions for the month. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

No one was present to make a public comment.

A public hearing was opened to take comment on the following ordinances:

Ordinance No. 1038 to close an alley off McCaslin Ave

Ordinance No. 1039 to rezone parcel 1.00 of Monroe County Tax Map 015E, Group D to be rezoned from R-2 to R-1

Ordinance No. 1040 to amend the budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024

Ordinance No. 1041 to rezone parcel 56.09 of Monroe County Tax Map 023 from C-3 to M-1

Ordinance No. 1042 to amend Title 1: General Administration to establish a city administrator

No written or oral comments were given. The public hearing was closed at 5:05 p.m.

In Old Business, Commissioner Hughes moved to approve Ordinance No. 1038 to close an alley off McCaslin Ave on second and final reading. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to approve Ordinance No. 1039 to rezone parcel 1.00 of Monroe County Tax Map 015E, Group D to be rezoned from R-2 to R-1 on second and final reading. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to approve Ordinance No. 1040 to amend the budget for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 on second and final reading. The motion was seconded. City Recorder Jessica Morgan asked the board to amend the ordinance to reflect an additional \$26,000 in the sanitation fund to correct the check posting to the proper fund. Commissioner Richeson moved to amend the motion to add \$26,000. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried. Commissioner Jinks moved to approve Ordinance No. 1040. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to approve Ordinance No. 1041 to rezone parcel 56.09 of Monroe County Tax Map 023 from C-3 to M-1 on second and final reading. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows:

Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Stutts moved to amend Ordinance No. 1042 to amend Title 1: General Administration to establish a city administrator per the draft included in the packets to reflect a change in Section 6 in subsection 1–406 Part 3 to add the delegation of personnel authority for the Administration department shall be comprised of the Personnel Commissioner and the City Administrator. The motion to amend was seconded. Commissioner Stutts asked about the pay scale. City Attorney John Cleveland advised the ordinance could be passed and the financial component being passed at a later date. Commissioner Moser asked about making the pay scale retroactive. The Recorder advised the new pay scale could be adopted over the next month and not cause the budget to go over. The item was placed on the workshop and called meeting for August 26, 2024. Commissioner Richeson moved to approve Ordinance No. 1042 as amended. The motion was seconded. Upon Roll Call Voting, the Ayes were as follows: Commissioners Hughes, Moser, Richeson, Jinks, and Stutts. Nays being none. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Richeson moved to appoint Jessica Morgan as City Administrator. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

In New Business, the board made several board appointments.

Commissioner Stutts moved to appoint Terry Knight to Sweetwater Utilities Board with a term expiring 6/30/2028. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

The Sweetwater Public Library Board nominated Larry Rotters to fill a term expiring July 1, 2027. Commissioner Richeson moved to appoint Larry Rotters to fill a term expiring July 1, 2027. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Mayor Lowe appointed Johnny Seiler and Ricardo Torres to the Economic and Community Development Board with terms expiring July 1, 2028.

Mayor Lowe appointed Jackie Mayotte to Sweetwater Planning Commissioner with a term expiring June 30, 2031.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Lucinda Wayman, Kim Harvey, and Jason Upton to the Sweetwater Recreation and Parks Commission with terms expiring June 30, 2026. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Marty Allen to the Industrial Development Board with a term expiring July 1, 2030. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Hughes moved to appoint Dan Harvey, Kenny Archer, and Keith Shope to the Health, Educational, and Housing Facility Board with a term expiring July 1, 2023. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Rebecca "Pidge" Collette to the Sweetwater Tree Board with a term expiring 7/1/2030. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.

Commissioner Moser moved to appoint Ashley Burrage and Peggy Bebb to the Historic Zoning Commission with terms expiring 6/30/2030. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.
Commissioner Richeson moved to appoint Larry Anderson and Virgil Wyrick to the Sweetwater Heritage Museum Board for a term expiring 7/1/2027. The motion was seconded. All voted in favor, with none opposed. The motion was carried.
Mayor Lowe reminded the board of the Sweetwater Utilities Board joint meeting to be held on September 12th at 6 p.m.
Chief Byrum invited all present to attend National Night Out the following day and thanked all departments for their work in making the event a success.
The meeting was adjourned at 5:37 p.m.
This the 5th day of August, 2024.
MayorAttest:
RECORDER